Cleaning Application

Cleaners, typesetters, editors and redrawers
fdviper

Cleaning Application

Postby fdviper » Sun Oct 25, 2015 7:00 pm

Name: FDViper. (Yes Comic Sans lol)
Availability: Most weekdays morning.
What manga brought you here? Which do you want to work on?: Deathtopia brought me here. I would prefer some seinen mangas.
Software: Photoshop CC
Experience: Nope I'm a noob :p
Test Link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/axjuy576r953x ... t.zip?dl=0

Wraith

Re: Cleaning Application

Postby Wraith » Sun Oct 25, 2015 9:11 pm

Thank you for your application, FDViper.

I have looked at it and have an assessment for you already.

Your good points are that you crop and straighten pages well.

However, you have a tendency to overlevel pages. You did it in all of them. That is perfectly understandable if you don't have practice editing manga. Most beginners will try to get rid of the dust (white specks on black areas and dark specks on white areas) by levelling. The problem is that dusting using levels removes detail from the images. You can see that in all pages. Take a look, for example, at the character on page four: the details are lost in his eyes and the lines of his hair nearly vanished in some areas.

Unfortunately, there is no way to clean raws without knowing how to Dust properly, using Burning and Dodging. There are several methods for this.

If you go to our list of tutorials here, you will find a good beginner's guide by our Head Redrawer, Sarrymast, which will help you to master learn how to level properly. It also has the technique he prefers for Dusting. Other tutorials there will have different techniques and you can choose the one that suits you best.

So, am I saying that you didn't pass?

Yes, I am. But keep reading and I'll tell you about our cleaning positions.

Right now, we have two cleaning positions open, both for seinen manga: Sprite and Destroy and Revolution. Sprite is the most urgent one.